News & Events


2020. 09. 28 - 2020. 09. 29

10 years of scientific excellence and high-tech-innovations

A Jubilee Event of the Center for Physical Sciences and Technology (FTMC) dedicated to the first significant milestone – the 10 Year Anniversary.

28-29 September, 2020
Center for Physical Sciences and Technology
Venue: FTMC at Sunrise Valley, Sauletekio Ave. 3, Vilnius, Lithuania 

Day 1, 28 September 2020

8:30 - 9:00


9:00 - 11:00

Session 1 Chair
Chair of Scientific Board prof. Rasa Pauliukaitė 


Welcome speeches by the conference Chair and honorable Guests:

Chair of Parliament Committe on Education and Science
acad. Eugenijus Jovaiša

First Deputy of Government chancellor
Lukas Savickas

Mayor of Vilnius city
Remigijus Šimašius

British Ambassador to Lithuania
John Brian Olley

President of Lithuanian Confederation of Industrialists
Vidmantas Janulevičius

Vilnius University pro-rector for Research
prof. Edita Sužiedėlienė

Director of VU Life Sciences Centre
dr. Gintaras Valinčius

Other honorable guests


Gintaras Valušis (FTMC): 10 years of scientific excellence and high-tech innovations
Plenary talk on history and the most important achievements of the FTMC


Valdemaras Razumas (Vice minister, Ministry of Education, Science and Sport): Policy of scientific excellence and FTMC role in innovation ecosystem


Visiting of exhibition “Science and Scientists on Coins and Banknotes” – author and initiator – Academician Eugenijus Norkus. Foyer of the FTMC

11:00 - 11:20

Coffee break

11:20 - 12:50

Session 2 Chair
Scientific Secretary dr. Kristina Plauškaitė – Šukienė 


Gediminas Račiukaitis (FTMC): Laser technologies and evolution of laser industries


Arūnas Šetkus (FTMC): Applied photonics: from bulk semiconductors to nanostructures


Eimutis Juzeliūnas (FTMC): Electrochemistry of silicon – towards a low-carbon economy

12:50 - 14:00


14:00 - 15:30

Session 3 Chair
Deputy Director for Research and Development 
habil. dr. Rimantas Ramanauskas 


Antti Vasara (VTT, Helsinki): key-note talk by the President of EARTO,
Role of RTOs in boosting innovation ecosystems: case example VTT in Finland (on-line)


Vincent Ryckaert (IMEC, Leuven): Invited talk  Intelectual Property Rights Challenges of RTOs


Kristina Ananičienė (LITEK), Julius Paužolis (FIMTP):
10 years along with high-tech business

15:30 - 15:50

Coffee break

15:50 - 17:15

Session 4 Chair
habil. dr. Gediminas Niaura


Braz Costa (President EXTRANET, CEO CITIVE, Braga):
Knowledge Based Textiles: the only possible future of textile industry in Europe (on-line)


Xi-Cheng Zhang (Rochester University): Key-note talk of International Advisory Board:
Recent Progress on THz Aqueous Science and Technology (on-line)

17:30 - 18:10

Chamber group of Vilnius music lovers symphony orchestra 

Music for Entertainment
(Foyer of the Centre, Saulėtekio ave. 3, Vilnius)

Day 2, 29 September 2020

8:30 - 9:00


9:00 - 10:30

Session 1 Chair
dr. Linas Vilčiauskas


Vidmantas Gulbinas (FTMC): Charge carrier motion peculiarities in hybrid organic-inorganic perovskites


Steigvilė Byčenkienė (FTMC): Climate change and environmental research


Audrius Alkauskas (FTMC): Invited talk on talents returns and overseas cooperation

10:30 - 10:50

Coffee break

10:50 - 12:20

Session 2 Chair
prof. habil. dr. Leonas Valkūnas


Rienk van Groendelle (VU University, Amsterdam): Key-note talk of International Advisory Board Member: The quantum design of photosynthesis (on-line)


Jonas Zmuidzinas (CalTech, Pasadena): Key-note talk of International Advisory Board Member.
Kinetic inductance parametric amplifiers:
The next big thing for ALMA?


Hartmut G. Roskos (Goethe-university, Frankfurt/M): Key-note talk of International Advisory Board Member: Light-matter interaction in a 1D THz photonic crystal cavity: Ultrastrong coupling and nonlinear optics (on-line)

12:20 - 14:00


14:00 - 15:30

Session 3 Chair
Head of Department of  Molecular Compound Physics
prof. habil. dr. Vidmantas Gulbinas


Leonas Valkūnas (FTMC): Models and Mechanisms of Reversible Regulation of Photosynthetic Light Harvesting


Irmantas Kašalynas (FTMC): Terahertz technologies: highlighted achievements and current challenges


Rokas Kondrotas, Marie Curie Fellow at the FTMC:
Current status and prospects of chalcogenide solar cells


Closing remarks

APROPOS 17 Conference
30 September — 1 October, 2020
Preliminary programme