Terahertz photonics laboratory

Head of the laboratory  dr. Irmantas Kašalynas
phone +370 5 2312418

  • Development of compact room temperature THz detectors and emitters for spectroscopic THz imaging, security and medical applications;
  • Development of compact THz components (filters, lenses, polarizators) and integration with THz detectors and emitters;
  • Investigation of semiconductor nanostructures (AlGaAs/GaAs ir AlGaN/GaN heterostructures; doped quantum wells, superlattices, superlattice/quantum dots/quantum rods systems) for THz photonics devices;
  • Terahertz broadband spectroscopy of carbon nanostructures and their composites.
  • Terahertz plasmonics and metamaterials 

International collaboration

  • Prof. H. G. Roskos group, Physikalisches Institut, Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt/M, Germany
  • Prof. K. Köhler group, Fraunhofer-Institut für Angewandte Festkörperphysik (Freiburg, Germany)
  • Prof. W. Knap headed Groupe d’Etude des Semiconducteurs, Montpellier University-2 and CNRS (France)
  • Groups of Prof. E. H. Linfield and Prof. P. Harrison, School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, University of Leeds (U. K.)
  • Prof. K. Alekseev group, Department of Physics, Loughborough University, (U. K.)
  • Prof. J. Łusakowski group, Institute of Experimental Physics, Warsaw University (Poland)
  • Prof. S. A. Maksimenko group, Institute for Nuclear Problem (Minsk, Belarus)
  • Prof. J. Trontelj group, Faculty of Electrical Engineering, University of Ljubljana (Slovenia)
  • Prof. M. Leszczyński group, MOVPE Epitaxy Laboratory, High Pressure Research Center of the Polish Academy of Sciences – UNIPRESS (Warsaw, Poland)
  • Dr. F. Wahaia goup, Institute for Innovation and Health Research (i3S), Institute of Biomedical Engineering (INEB), University of Porto (Porto, Portugal)